Where does the love go?

We have found a home for dear sweet Zola. She is going to our housekeeper who knows and loves her. The parting will not be sweet nor easy. Knowing we only have 2 weeks left with her is a rather strange feeling, somewhat like knowing the moment of someone’s upcoming death. I look into my dog’s liquid brown eyes and I ask myself “ What will I do with all the love?” The love doesn’t stop when we go away. I cannot box it up and send it along with her bed and bowl. The love will remain.

These last few weeks have been an intense love affair between us. Rather than pull back and protect myself, as would be the safer option, I am constantly rubbing her head, tickling her belly and staring into those eyes. As I read  one hand hangs down absent mindedly rubbing her neck, her warm chin, her back. She is the softest being I have ever touched, Now I can kiss her nose and feel the softness of her neck when I feel the love. What will I do with all this love when she goes?

 

 

those eyes

3 Comments

Filed under I love dogs

3 responses to “Where does the love go?

  1. tamale

    she is such a sweetheart. I am glad she has found a home and with someone you both know – that makes the transition a little easier to bear, doesn’t it – knowing she is with someone you trust and know? best wishes

  2. Pingback: A bit like a hippo. « 3limes

  3. Pingback: back to the search engines « 3limes

Leave a Reply

