This time a year ago…

This time a year ago I was walking through the snowy streets of London filled with the expectation of a new life unfolding before me. I had just signed on the dotted line and accepted this post and this life here in Kampala.  It was an exciting and crazy leap but one that I still had months to digest. After a week in London I returned home to Trinidad for the final 6 months of our stay. When it came time to leave Trinidad it was absolutely heart wrenching, both because we were leaving a place and people we had grown to love and because we were jumping into the unknown. And now here we are, we have made the leap, we are surviving and those snowy walks through London, trying to imagine Africa, are but a memory. It is funny when, what once we couldn’t even imagine is now something we live everyday.

I had no idea what it would be, I just held my breath and jumped.

People have ideas about Africa. Some think it will be full of men in skins ready to dance or spin around a village, many can’t even imagine what an African city is like. I was one of those people. It defies the imagination, there is no way to know what an assault it will be, how the poverty will hit you, a little less everyday, but still hit with a pungent punch all the same. The things that were so strange at first slowly start to become normal and in this week, when I am looking back to those days at the job fair, I am trying to remember what the picture in my mind was. Did I even have a picture in my head or was I just hooked on the idea of adventure? Trying something different? Exploring another corner of this world I had never seen?

In two weeks, on Valentine’s Day, in fact, we will celebrate our 6 month anniversary here. I use the word celebrate intentionally, it has been hard but there is a lot to celebrate; what started out as a hand shake in the ballroom of a London hotel has ended up being a life.

1 Comment

Filed under Family Stuff, Trinidad & Tobago, Uganda

One response to “This time a year ago…

  1. sumanam

    I stumbled on your blog a few days back. Love the way you write. Your writing opened up a new world in my eyes that is so unknown to me, except the poverty stricken pictures I have seen from time to time in tv or newspapers..

    In some way I can understand the phrase “exciting and crazy leap”, which I took almost 10yrs back in a crowded, polluted street in Calcutta (my hometown) to move to U.S. Though I wouldn’t compare in any way Trinidad with life in the U.S. frankly speaking I dare not compare U.S. cities with any of my Indian cities…

Leave a Reply

