Being brave, driving, finding snails and the pretty.

I am not writing enough. Perhaps I am in less of a reflective mood and more of a get on with it and cope mood. We are trudging along here with out our Handsome. He is happy over there in our future home; he has survived one sand storm and multiple temptations in the shopping department. He has a car now and is installed in a small and sweet apartment on the beach. And us? Well we have been keeping ourselves sane with homework, Thai food, the occasional Margarita and plenty of cutting out of paper fish. ( Poisson d’avril, ladies and gentleman, will soon be upon us.)

I am being terribly brave and driving all over the place. As one or two of you may know I am very frightened of driving in Kampala, and Handsome Husband did very nearly ALL the driving when he was here. Now it is me behind the wheel and it is amazing what happens when you take away the element of choice. We just have to cope. The bumps, the pot holes, the crazy boda boda drivers, the maniacs who think you can just cut someone off, the pedestrians who assume we will stop or slow down, the nonsensical  magic roundabouts, the lack of traffic lights, I am fighting fierce and doing it all.

Do I have anything else to tell you?

We had a giant snail walking up our wall. Here it is:

And sometime next week I will be another year older. I have purchased myself a lovely birthday present, quite a feat to find something I am so excited about in Kampala and it has been hidden away in Trooper’s room to be pulled out on my birthday. I can’t tell you what it is, because we are pretending it is a surprise.

But it is pretty and we all need pretty things now and again.

2 Comments

Filed under Being brave, I miss shopping.

2 responses to “Being brave, driving, finding snails and the pretty.

  1. Ali

    I am with you on the driving – the worst part of the triathlon for me was driving to Entebbe in the pitch black and pouring rain. I had used up all my adrenalin before I even started!
    Ali x

  2. Always good to find the pretty!
    Lovely post as ever, I am passing on the Stylish Blogger Award-if you have time copy&paste this link and follow the instructions:
    http://robynsafricanadventures.blogspot.com/2011/03/stylish-blogger-award.html
    Seeing you this morning made me smile.x

Leave a Reply

