Perks of the job

A few, and I mean just a few, of my students have read my blog. They are some very special students who spend lunch time in my classroom and who I like so much for their intelligence, liberal mindedness, maturity and their determination to be themselves despite the onslaught of peer pressure all around them. They are a unique group. Rather than watching Gossip Girls, this lot loves the wry humour of Scrubs and they own Obama T-shirts. They read, paint, write poetry and BLOG! It turns out that ever since I told them about my blog a few of them got inspired and decided to start blogging themselves. It’s funny because like most teenagers they do not enthuse openly about much, keeping it low key is way cooler. So I didn’t know if they had even read my blog, much less liked it. Now I see that it has sent them off on a creative journey and I couldn’t be happier.

This morning I read two of the blogs and they are good! Their voices come through; they keep it real, funny and at the same time in their regular low key way their view of the world shines all over.  These kids are only 14 and 15! They are smart, insightful, creative and excellent writers. If they are like this now I can’t imagine what they will be doing at 35. I hope they continue to let their voices be heard and stay true to themselves and never succumb to the shallow and petty concerns of many of their peers.

I will be heartbroken to leave them. But at least I now have their blogs to read so I can keep track of their brilliance from afar.

3 Comments

Filed under Miss Teacher

3 responses to “Perks of the job

  1. That’s really sweet! I think blogging is a GREAT tool for students to practice their English, not to mention develop other personal skills. It’ll be a great way to keep in contact with your favourite students too. 🙂

    brenda@www.engberts-kaya.com

  2. CelebrateCanada2010

    There is something very rewarding about knowing that you have turned young people on to a new forum for self-expression. I can only imagine how thrilled many of them must be to have a teacher like you who really listens to them and shares of herself. Interactions like that change a person in a very fundamental and important way. Thank you for sharing yourself with all of us in your blog.

  3. Pingback: A little Pie with that Antique Bossy Waffle? « 3limes

Leave a Reply

