Epiphany on a beach

There are a lot of things I have trouble accepting. There are a lot of reasons that I sometimes get angry. It is called baggage everyone has it, some more some less; basically you can either carry it and complain or leave it behind.

 

I have gripes. I live in the sun and love my job but I have my own things I need to make peace with .

 

1.I will never have loads of money. My financial projections were all wrong. Now I am trying to make that okay in my head. I have a theory that richer people have more heart disease because they are stressed from all that hard work and worry about getting the latest bag and keeping track of all the cash. I, on the other hand just need a bit more money and I’ll have a healthy heart.

2.I will never have very long thin shapely legs,with gorgeous calves and delicate ankles. Not much to be happy about there. Not sure I can love my body but can probably learn to like it, a bit.

3. Elements of my childhood that I have to shrug off. Like a fluffy dandelian I just need to count and blow. Or turn it into fluff.

4.I have certain tendencies to be bossy and controlling towards the gentle and handsome man I live with. I need to accept him exactly the way he is. It is interesting that a lot of strong and bossy women try to change aspects of their husbands, some even to the point of divorce. Eventually, and for most women this is after the kids leave home, she has a choice. Stay or go. (Sometimes the husband shocks her by being the one to turn round and leave). Wouldn’t it be great to start accepting the husband earlier and just enjoy the ride?

 

So there it is. Money/Body/Man.

 

The point I am trying to make is really a question. Does acceptance come with age? (Not for everyone, mind you, some stay poor fat and bitchy), but there are those who make peace with it all and are much happier.

 

So this is my big epiphany: 

 

Happiness simply comes from not being mad anymore.

1 Comment

Filed under observations, personal

One response to “Epiphany on a beach

  1. CelebrateCanada2010

    I love your writing. Reading your blog makes me want to express myself like this. Perhaps in expressing some of these things, we free ourselves to some small extent from them. If even for a moment.

    I have the exact same gripe as # 2 – oh, how I adore women’s legs that are lean and angular, especially when they are exposed in a flirty skirt or in preppy shorts. Sculptured calves and firm thighs with no bumps. I suppose not having the perfect body makes me work harder on other aspects of myself.

    Thank you for sharing. xo

Leave a Reply

