I did come here to work, you know.

I have survived my first two days at my new job. Starting at a new school is strange because there are all sorts of comparisons that float around the head. For a start this campus is big and fancy but we don’t have a computerized attendance or grade keeping system. That is partly because this is Africa and partly because it is a growing school and these things will come. Many of the teachers are from Uganda and they love to touch and hug each other. There is a lot of laughter in the air. No one is very happy to be working two weeks before the students start but I am relieved to have the time since I will be teaching all sorts of texts that I have never taught before!

I am eternally grateful to have a husband who is out on the Boda Boda shopping for furniture and organizing our house while I am here at work trying to wrap my head around a totally different way of doing things. At some point he will have to sit down and do some work too but it is a relief to have him holding down the fort, house, kids and all.

So since I have come to Uganda to work I thought I would take this opportunity to introduce you to some of the books I will be teaching this year. In a somewhat random and rambling style here, in a nutshell, is the way my school year is shaping up.

Lots of Poetry and short reading pieces (that come from a book suited to the English year 7-9 curriculum).

Some rather scary looking grammar and spelling material that I hope to make fun (!).

Frankenstein

Diary of Anne Frank

Animal Farm

Refugee Boy by Benjamin Zephaniah

The Tempest

Midsummer’s Night Dream

Dr Faustus by Marlowe

Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian

Whale Rider by Witi Ihimaera

I am going to have to sit on my brand new sofa and get reading.

I have also discovered that I am going to be a year 7 ( grade 6) homeroom teacher and I will be taking them on a two day sailing trip this year.

I will be teaching Trooper ( year 8, grade 7) but I won’t be anything to do with her homeroom,.

The change from the US to British system is a little confusing. You simply need to add a year. So instead of going into grade 4 Princess is starting year 5.

Tonight we are going to try out the only cinema in Kampala. More on that and hopefully some photos coming a little later.

3 Comments

Filed under Miss Teacher, Uganda

3 responses to “I did come here to work, you know.

  1. jkrobin94

    They get some awesome books! Not that ours weren’t great, but you know. 🙂

    Congrats, by the way, on being braver than I ever could be! I know Uganda’ll work out great for you guys.

  2. twoods158

    The kids there have no idea how lucky they are to have such a wonderful English teacher that makes the subject interesting! We’re reading Dr. Faustus in AP English!

  3. caryn ferguson

    sailing?? uh-oh! They didn’t ask about previous sailing history? You are such a trooper! what are you reading for fun?

Leave a Reply

