A bit like a hippo.

This is NOT a pity party so don’t come with any Kleenex or sympathy. It’s just that now and again I like to set aside my very sunny disposition and famous positivism and wallow.

Like a Hippo wallows in the murky muddy water, except for me the water is Kampala and the murky-ness is the things I live without.

Yes it is a GIGANTIC adventure and yes, it is AFRICA and I will get to see a lion but may I please, just for a moment mourn the loss of my washing machine? You see, I am a little bit Trooper and a little bit Princess myself. I like to think that most of the time I am more Trooper than Princess but every so often I look around my self and I feel those Princessy tendencies rising to the surface, like a Hippo in her murky bath.

Many moons ago, in what seems like another life but was actually only 3 months ago, I had a dishwasher, microwave, washing machine, Cuisinart Magimix, Osterizer, and a gorgeous espresso machine. I also had my beloved girl, friends, a TV, the best housekeeper/cook a person could wish for and Cassandra. I had all my furniture and possessions, including paintings, photographs and mementos that reminded me from whence I came; I had wireless internet, a job I loved and a beautiful home. I had a car with a CD player and air-conditioning, a glistening mall and a beach just 30 minutes away.

We arrived here with 7 suitcases and shipped some boxes filled with essentials so basically our life has become somewhat sparse. In time we will have curtains and furniture, we will rebuild the home we left behind but some things will never be the same.

Each night we hand wash our dinner saucepans and plates with cold water (only the showers are fitted with water heaters) all our clothes are hand washed (ok, but not by me), our kitchen is minimal. Living the simple life does make you think. We take for granted so many of our mod-cons, so much of what keeps us ticking each day. It is only when they are taken away that we realize how lucky we were.

But I miss nothing as much as I miss my friends.

Ok. Wallow over.

3 Comments

Filed under personal

3 responses to “A bit like a hippo.

  1. MaryAnn Harrison

    Hello Samantha

    Fair enough! That was an entitled wallow and now on to the rest of it. I’m sure that your friends miss you as much and your blog is your heartbeat to them. This is when we can thank cyberspace. Courage, good lady.

  2. caryn ferguson

    You’re friends do miss you as much as you miss them! That was a justified wallow….. I am writing you a email now. xxxxx

  3. celebratecanada

    I say don’t swallow that wallow too quickly. Wallowing and discontentment can lead to great creativity and spur you on to new depths (maybe depths of despair, maybe depths of inspiration…up to you I suppose).

    You are brave, and I am proud of you all! Thank you for sharing what is happening – it has been years, but you still hold a big place in my heart.

    Heide xo

Leave a Reply

