Watch out Boda men!

I have been driving the Beast! It is a pretty hairy experience driving in Kampala, more like an adrenaline filled video game than a mere drive to the store for milk. From both sides Bodas appear with pedestrians and bikes about to topple under the strain of carrying too much charcoal. Out of the blue a bike with sugar cane strapped horizontally across the back will weave between cars and appear in front of me, and just as I swerve to avoid him, I look to my left and see two small children crossing the road. People do not follow rules. There is no zebra crossing or plans to overtake only on the left. It is mayhem, madness and anarchy.

So while I may no longer be riding the Bodas I am still very much aware of their existance.  Watch out Boda man, the Beast is near.

1 Comment

Filed under Uganda

One response to “Watch out Boda men!

  1. angela

    Hi:)
    I just read all of your entries from your arrival in Kampala to the Boda men. Thanks for the laughs and the insight. Your photography is captivating and I can not wait to see what adventures come your way next. Thank you for sharing, so vibrantly, in pictures and words, this experience:).

    Angela

Leave a Reply

