Counting days

If I haven’t written as much as usual it is because I feel it is necessary to find something cheerful to write about, amusing perhaps or maybe simply anecdotal. Seeing as though I spend most days either tucked away in my classroom trying hard to get 11 year olds or even 13 year olds (can you believe?) to use a capital letter after a full stop, and then driving along the highway passed decaying cow horns back home to spend the evening with one grumpy Trooper and one Princess hyped up on her imminent appearance in Grease next week, I haven’t felt particularly inspired.  The swelling from the nasty bites caught during last week’s visit to the very Hairy Lemon has subsided due to heavy doses of steroids and enough anti-histamines to put an elephant to sleep, and those little pills coupled with a glass of wine or two send me into a post Entourage Dvd stupor.

I am counting the days until we leave on our much anticipated vacation. On December 13th we will finally set off in search of Hippos, Lions, and Elephants; in short we are heading on Safari for 5 nights. Every time I think about this road trip, with just our little family, I feel little butterfly flutters of excitement bouncing around the walls of my belly. I am just so excited.

Yet, there are still 7 days of school that remain, two drama performances, ( including the aforementioned Grease), a dance to chaperone and 120 projects to mark. On a more sociable note we have an art exhibit, a Christmas party, a dinner party and another little event so I know time will just fly by. Before I know it we will be packed up, in the Beast and heading West to the border of Congo.

Term one is nearly over.

2 Comments

Filed under Family Stuff, I have no idea where to put this

2 responses to “Counting days

  1. eddmah

    I know exactly how you feel! These next few days are going to be rough, but the holiday time after is going to be rather special! (Your Safari pictures are going to be beautiful)

  2. The final stretch is always the worse, I think… good thing we have that “light at the end of the tunnel” to look forward to. I’m sure that you’ll cope with everything just fine, you aren’t The Super Teacher for nothing!

    (and, just so you know, I’m incredibly jealous of your new students. School really isn’t the same without you.)

Leave a Reply

