Trinidad, Je t’aime.

The Bloggie nomination has sent me spinning into cyber space to check out and discover new blogs. Blogging is a funny business isn’t it? Sort of like a club that all the people not in, don’t get. When I tell people that I have a blog, and surprisingly I don’t tell people that often, I get a funny look. One day a friend of mine explained the prejudice people who are not in the know feel towards blogs and bloggers. There is a feeling that we are a navel gazing, conceited arrogant lot who assume everyone is interested in us. Then once they start to have a read they begin to understand.

I started this blog back in 2008 in Trinidad. I was seeing and experiencing so much over there; I felt if I didn’t get it down, somewhere , I would burst. The result was that I loved and enjoyed Trinidad so much more knowing that I was now looking to write and collect stories, and Trinidad in turn inspired me more than ever. Blogging became an online travel diary of sorts, a place to try and capture what I was seeing with my eyes.

I strove to find a balance between the personal and the quietly observed. I was never going to be the writer that would reveal my whole life, warts, prickly bits, and all.  And I was careful to never use this as a forum for whining or examining my navel too much. Over time I found myself inserting teaching posts, post about my kids and the personal price of upheaving a family and moving across the world twice in 3 years. But the main subject has always been the country where I am living and rereading some of those Trini posts has made me think a lot about that special island.  It is a place of colour, character and culture and the people have Personality with a capital P. It is a shock to all of us how much we really miss Trinidad. I don’t imagine we thought it would get under our skin the way it did after only 2 years. Yet it has and with Carnival only 19 days away I can imagine the spirit and excitement all over Port of Spain. I can sense the frisson and shiver in the air around the Savannah as the stage is erected and all those girls getting ready to don sparkly bikinis and feathers jog past the coconut sellers, getting fit and in shape. I could wax lyrical and get soft and nostalgic, but, no whining allowed. Let me just say three simple words:

Maracas, Doubles, Mango Chow.

I could do with a little Trini spirt over here.

1 Comment

Filed under Travel, Trinidad & Tobago

One response to “Trinidad, Je t’aime.

  1. robert

    that trini Personality is what i miss most. I always tell people that if you see three trinis talking it would be less than 30 seconds before they burst out laughing about something, and it’s contagious. It is far from utopia, but they enjoy life more than any country i have visited, by far……..

Leave a Reply

