Lovely, dark and deep.

The other morning I woke up, reluctantly, as I always do, and as I brushed the curtain aside I noticed that everything outside was pink. A warm, dusty, rosy pink, as if a makeup artist had tipped his pot of blush all over everything. The sun was rising and the licks of sun rays were stretched over the rooftops, trees and had lightened the red roads to a rosy hue. It was gentle, soft and beautiful. I turned my head away but the image has remained. How often do we notice that something is so pretty it can take your breath away? I think we dwell on the ugliness rather more often than we should. Or maybe our eyes are just turned downwards towards our ipod, phone or study sheets on our laps.

I recently taught the poem, Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening (Robert Frost) to my grade 6 (year 7) class. I asked them to try and remember the last time they had pointed out something rather lovely. It took a number of minutes for them to remember, especially when I mentioned that laughing at a joke on facebook did not count. Slowly a few ideas started to come forward.

“How about the time I saw a rainbow?”

“Oooo, Miss!” said the boy with the hand frantically shaking at the back, “I saw a giant snail once and I showed my Mom!”

“Well one time I saw a cool lizard,” offered another.

“Well, “I suggested, “what about just on your way to school or maybe when you looked out of the window in the morning?”

Sadly very few could remember noticing something that lovely without it jumping out and flying over their head or walking across the path about to be tripped on.

We are always in such a rush. We have poets and photographers to thank for taking the time to stop and point out that lovely thing, just over there.

“The Woods are Lovely, dark and deep,

But I have promises to keep.

And miles to go before I sleep,

And miles to go before I sleep.”


2 Comments

Filed under Miss Teacher, Photography

2 responses to “Lovely, dark and deep.

  1. sumanam

    After reading your post, I tried to remember and sadly enough I couldn’t !!!
    Then I looked at my backyard and I saw a little bird sitting in my orange tree, I bet it happens everyday, but I just donot have the time to see..

  2. Ah, this makes me miss high school english! Robert Frost and the Road Less Travelled….

Leave a Reply

