It’s my birthday!


A year ago I was all in a flutter about the big birthday. Now a year later this birthday is barely a blip on the radar. I am known amongst my good friends as the Fairy God Mother of Birthdays, since I tend to make a big fuss of birthdays. I firmly believe that a birthday is a day to celebrate oneself and that a suitable quantity of revelry should ensue. In my opinion no one should work on their birthday but that doesn’t always quite work out. Since my birthday is so close to Easter, I never once attended school on my birthday while growing up and now that I am a teacher I am always working on my birthday. Some irony in that situation!

But there are advantages to teaching on a birthday .Look at this cake! I feel most loved.

I have 20 12 year old boys and girls throwing me a party, complete with cake, music and popcorn. How many people go to work and get that?

I have so much chocolate on my desk I could open a candy store and tomorrow is the last day of term.

Let’s just not count the candles, shall we?

3 Comments

Filed under How old am I?

3 responses to “It’s my birthday!

  1. So is the best part that you have no school after tomorrow, or the poo brown cake that you got?!

    (Im only teasing, the cake is super sweet!)

  2. Oh shit – and Happy Birthday too I might add!!!

  3. angela

    i missed your birthday:((( so happy belated:))

    you said last year was a biggie? are the the same age then, as well??

    🙂

Leave a Reply

