A week in the life of 3limes

My week in review:

Let’s start at the end. Saturday morning is always the same. There is something comforting about a routine that doesn’t change whether it be Montreal, Trinidad or Uganda. I wake up, drink coffee and read the on line edition of the FT.  This is my key hole into the week’s events as they unfolded in the arts or through the eyes of my favourite columnists. No matter where I am I can still read about Susie Boyt’s week, Tyler Brule’s travels, Simon Schama’s opinions and the reviews of all the films and books that will never come here. It keeps me up to date, keeps in me in the loop, keeps me inspired and sometimes keeps me frustrated. Keeping up with the Great Shiny West through the internets.

Friday was ‘dress up as a book character’ day at school, topping off our annual book week. I wanted to please/surprise my IB class so I dressed in top to toe white, removed all my jewelry and floated into class like a spirit. Who was I? Clara from the House of Spirits, our current book. They all got it, thank God, so I must be doing something right. Friday also saw Trooper win best short story in the annual competition despite the fact that her story was about a serial killer. Should I be worried or just curb her current fascination with all things Horror?

Thursday I went to another school in Kampala to see a fine production of The Merchant of Venice. Sadly only a few students accompanied us on the small field trip but I am proud of those who did since any chance to see Shakespeare performed is a chance worth taking. And it must be so hard to pull themselves away from a night of Facebook and tv. I was impressed by some of the young actors performing and it was pleasant to sit on the grass and hear Shakespeare’s words ring out in a Kampala night.

Wednesday I devoted an entire class of Argumentative writing to the revolution in Egypt. The question I posed was thus: Is Revolution a necessary means of change?” It was one of the best classes taught in some time. The students lapped it all up, finally thinking about revolution, what it is, what it means and after some debate and stimulating conversation they came to the conclusion that no great change could arise without bloodshed. That class was what teaching is all about.

Tuesday was a happy day as this little blog was nominated for a Bloggie! Best Blog in Africa! Happy smiles all round. Vote here if you haven’t!  I also hosted a small dinner party on Tuesday and cooked delicious fish cakes and a Mexican Chocolate cake. Pat on the back for Tuesday please.

Monday.  Mondays are hard. It is a full spread of teaching, no breaks at all, but this Monday introduced a bit of sunshine and fun into the proceedings. As the teacher at the helm of Student Council I proposed a spot of fun, a humourous auction to choose a lunch date who would provide a picnic. We raised a lot of money, there were a great many smiling faces and there were many students who had lunch with people they didn’t know that well. School spirit abounded and that is what I am all about. Bring on the Spirit! And lunch with yours truly went for a pretty sum so that all turned out for the best. My egg salad pita sandwiches were much appreciated. Although the Toblerone was stale. Oh, well.

I have no idea what I did last Sunday. My brain doesn’t work that far back. So we shall stop there. Overall a good week, don’t you think?

5 Comments

Filed under Miss Teacher

5 responses to “A week in the life of 3limes

  1. sounds a lovely week x

  2. impressed with you…both that you had such an overall good week AND that you left Toblerone alone long enough for it to get stale!

    • 3limes

      I must confess, a Toblerone never lasts that long in my house. The reason it was stale is because it was purchased in a Ugandan supermarket and you never know what journey or how long it took to get there.

  3. petesmama

    Any week with chocolate cake is a good week. Good luck with the bloggies.

  4. Pingback: Reel Life With Jane is Nominated for a Bloggie Award!

Leave a Reply

