Popcorn time, Emma Bovary and Elections

Quiet lazy days at home as school is closed for a mid term break. Museveni, fondly known here at M7 has been re elected and so far the streets have been calm and troubles averted. The police and military presence has been thick; last night we saw men in full camouflage garb, flak jackets, operation helmets and guns at the ready lining the streets and circling the roundabouts. There are few cars on the street and the city feels tense yet quiet.

 

We have been profiting from quiet days at home to catch up on reading and movies and some gentle socializing. A friendly BBQ found us sitting round a table on a lovely deck, candle light tucked into hurricane lamps and flowing wine. The children lolled on sofas watching Harry Potter while we talked and talked and talked some more.

 

Then yesterday, pool side at some good friends, sipping frozen Margaritas, I discovered the perfect way to spend a Sunday afternoon. Happy children dipped in and out of the pool and we talked and talked some more.

 

I have finished Madame Bovary for the second time. With a separation of 15 years between readings I had forgotten the details, vaguely remembering a rocking horse drawn cab, lots of black ruched taffeta, Emma’s luscious hair and her bumbling and ineffectual husband. I will be teaching the trials of Emma when I return to school and hope the students found it as romantic and exacting as I did. I am convinced they will have read nothing like it before and it will surely push their intellectual buttons.

 

There has been a lot of popcorn and movie time, some old favourites revisited and some new. I watched Toy Story 3 for the first time and shyly hid my tears at the end lest my family think me insane. Out of Africa, in a darkened room on a sunny African afternoon was splendid yet tragically sad. Princess lay on the carpet afterwards and asked why we had watched such a sad film. “ The saddest movie I have ever seen”, she declared. Then Stealing Beauty transported me to the divine Tuscan country side and the idyllic nature of beauty both physical and transient. I adored for the second time Liv Tyler’s wide eyed innocence and that house, my dream house. I rued the day I had lost the sound track, although come to think of it, it was on cassette so where would I play it now anyway?

 

The King’s Speech: had to be seen before the predicted Oscar win that he so deserves. What a fine and tender film. 127 Hours, harrowing and unforgettable but a slice of extraordinary film making and acting. Princess was out at a sleep over, obviously this was not a film for her sweet eyes, but Trooper admitted it was far more terrifying and disturbing than Friday the 13th that she had watched with a friend earlier this week.

 

Tomorrow evening I am setting off on a business trip, as Handsome Husband amusingly referrers to it. It is a spot of Professional Development. I am to be the student for once and am being sent on a course in Nairobi. I will be gone 2 nights and when I return I am going camping. Somehow I have been led astray once again. I have been persuaded to set foot in a tent, less than two months after the last time in Tsavo. How is this possible? I have been bribed with a large campfire and plenty of champagne. I am simply a tart, what can I say?

 

3 Comments

Filed under Family Stuff

3 responses to “Popcorn time, Emma Bovary and Elections

  1. Darlisha

    How do you get such new movies in Uganda? I am moving to Kampala shortly from the US and my heart leapt at the thought that I could still continue to be my movie buff self there as well.

    Reading Robin’s blog also made me happy since she mentioned that there are places for yoga and working out in the city. Fantastic!

  2. My lovely, hope you find Arttecaffe in Nairobi. x

  3. So great to meet up with you nbo!!! lots love x janelle

Leave a Reply

