Give you my sweet soul dreams

 

There is some music that follows you through different chapters. Or some music that when you hear it is sharply poignant of a particular time.

Recently I have been listening to one of my favorite all time albums, Goodbye Jumbo by World Party. It takes me back to a time, to a place soft with the taste of regret wrapped in hope and now it is following me again, like a warm hand keeping me safe.

 

I have had a strange time of it lately, too strange to wrap words around and yet too strange to write about anything else. There are times in life when everything changes, or tilts, and life and the way you see things is never the same again. The older you get, the more moments like this you have and yet they are so very few. Giving birth, losing a parent, having an accident, these are events that somehow shift you internally and leave things unbalanced for a time, as if the pinball machine has tilted and is not yet right.  And I wonder as I walk the aisles of the grocery store, how many other people who appear normal on the outside have tiny fissures cracking on the inside. But through it all comes a taste of change, of the chrysalis unravelling and something new being born.

 

And so my sweet soul dreams follow me in the car, tipping over sloping hills, catching the golden light as it bounces on the lush green. Kampala is sexy green at the moment, fertile and fecund land, mulched earth and dripping wet gigantic leaves. Everything is sprouting, growing and changing.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Being brave

6 responses to “Give you my sweet soul dreams

  1. Another excellent post thanks for sharing! I enjoy reading your blog very much. Spending time with my family is something I love to do.

    Easy Lifestyles:
    Fun Family Activities

  2. I enjoyed your poetic look at change. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Wow. That was beautiful. And really hit me. I feel my pinball machine has never really righted in the last few years. That really, I’ve had to learn to play the whole thing a new way. I often wonder if I will ever wake up and feel the way I once did. Sometimes I think I catch sight of it, but never to hold for long.

  4. poutana1

    “And I wonder as I walk the aisles of the grocery store, how many other people who appear normal on the outside have tiny fissures cracking on the inside. But through it all comes a taste of change, of the chrysalis unravelling and something new being born.”
    very poignant…

  5. Kashif Ansari

    change is such an elusive thing. the future becomes the present. the present becomes the past. it all occurs in the twinkle of an eye. like a dew drop vanishing forever into a pool of water beneath a leaf. it is so delicate that it can be compared to the powdery colors on the wings of a butterfly. there for a brief ephemeral moment and then up up and away…into the infinite.

Leave a Reply

