Kampala and the sisterhood

Kampala. I love it green, and raining, the water mirrors the day. We are slowly coming to an end, a term is ending and a break is nigh. We are hopping on a jet plane and heading to Bahrain to explore and see and find and learn. We will find a house, a school, maybe a job. We will start the slow move from one life to another as we imagine where we’ll be next year. No rain, just dry, no green, just desert, no children carrying water and majestic woman wearing bananas atop their heads, something new and different instead.

The Parrots and Hammerheads call to one another in the tree outside my window and I wonder what the sounds of the future will be. Will a call to prayer take over the bird calls?

I had a night or two recently that were different, one an evening of French folk, chic with their perfectly placed scarf, chain or glasses, the kisses and laughter better in French. There was good taste in the air with language and culture tying threads around the crowd.

Another a night of girls; talking, musing, wondering, hoping. I was the oldest, the only one married, the one who was meant to have some wisdom tucked between the folds of experience. We talked by candlelight of choice, hope and compromise and I sensed real friendship, the kind girls have whether they are 13 or 32.

And I thought of my sisterhood and how I miss it. One or two nights a year is not enough. Then I thought of all the wonderful women I have fallen in love with and then had to leave. I could never survive the highs and lows without the women. I build walls around my heart and say “no more!” And then I do it all again, the love, the wistful nights wishing we could all live happily in a commune of wine and candlelight.

4 Comments

Filed under Sisterhood

4 responses to “Kampala and the sisterhood

  1. You keep speaking to my heart. The women. It’s the women who hold me up in each new place and then I have to leave, or they leave, and new ones come to fill the places, but oh how I want to keep them all and gather them up sometimes, for a night, for a moment, for time to stand still.

    I am so excited for your new adventure! I have no idea what life is like there and can’t wait to hear about it through your poetic musings and beautiful words.

  2. magintu

    The very best of luck.

  3. yes, there is always hope. Sisterhood is important, but it is soon time for your family to be together again – that is what is important.

Leave a Reply

