Summer Memories: California edition

Yes I am a teacher and we get long holidays. Summer is our prize.

In case you think I have been galavanting round the world from one hotel to the next let me set your mind at ease. I am most fortunate in having dear and generous family and friends with homes ( and ample space) in gorgeous corners of the world. I only stayed in one hotel for one night all summer and that was by choice ( thank you Chateau Frontenac, Quebec City). The rest of the time we were nestled with the comfort of friends and in the case of California, family. My father lives in the mountains in Northern California and it had been four years since my last visit. ( That was a little visit sandwiched between Montreal and Trinidad. I see a pattern here.)

California is God’s country. Everything a person could desire or need in life is in California. Avocados, Wine, Peaches, Corn, Fish, Apricots, Raisons, Almonds, Majestic Trees, Waves, Ocean, Sunshine and the Best Highways in the World.

Sadly ( for us) my father and his wife are moving next year.

North Carolina: you have a lot to live up to.

1 Comment

Filed under Great Big Shiny West, Photography

One response to “Summer Memories: California edition

  1. I love California, too. North Carolina is beautiful as well. It might just surprise you. The Smoky Mountains are something.

Leave a Reply

