Velvet and chocolate

I miss Europe. The ‘other’ world, Third, Second, Developing, what ever you want to call it doesn’t always fit so well. And of course it is that unease, that ill fitting life that makes me wide eyed ( though not so bushy tailed) most of the time. We grow by leaping, or falling, through the hoops out of our comfort zone. But every now and then, I long for the Great Shiny West. And it is not all about shiny shoe shops and the perfect cappucino, nor is it a longing only for order and tameness. No. I think it is a yearning for a beauty that feels familiar.

I come from both a literature and history of art background. So keep me a way from a museum, a film house, a gallery or a good second hand book shop for too long and I start to show symptoms. Like wise I need interesting architecture, a sense of history that seeps out of bricks and monuments, alley ways and cobbled roads. Like a nun who I presume does not miss sex, having never had it, I am fine for a while without it. But then I get a taste for it, as I did in Berlin and I am all lust filled once again, with nothing to press against a wall.

So I turn and look around  for a different beauty to satisfy me.

I found a cafe that is a delicious cross between Toulouse Lutrec Paris and Arabia.  It’s all velvet and tinkling crystal and chocolate.

It helps.

3 Comments

Filed under Great Big Shiny West, personal, Photography

3 responses to “Velvet and chocolate

  1. robyn

    ohhhh…good find!

  2. Barbora

    I can relate to this whole post very well, I miss Europe too, haven’t ventured into Cafe Lilou yet, just seen it from the outside sofar..
    I enjoy reading your blog a lot!

  3. So happy you have found a little slice for your enjoyment. I should not mention I am sinking into the words of Dante’s hell while roaming the streets, a belly full of coffee or wine, and breathtaking beauty. After Uganda, I savor every moment.

Leave a Reply

