A funny sort of week

It’s been a funny week on the whole. Trooper suddenly came down with something rather nasty and had a day off school. Then once she was up and running Princess fell with a fever that kept her home for two days. It is to be expected. We have hit the 6 week mark and that means major assessments at school, added pressure and lots of weariness. We have one week left and then a whole week off. I am calling it half term, here it is called Eid.

With Princess home. I had to stay home too, at least for the first day and that had me spinning webs of order around my house. I had not had time, the most precious commodity of all, to organize drawers, clean shoes, do some sorting and catch up with the minutia of home life.  Playing house made me feel domesticated, a feeling rather rare and strange as I normally feel anything but.

Hitting the 6 week mark at school also led to the Day of Angst that must hit teachers everywhere. The questions fly like curve balls: ” Am I actually teaching them anything? Do they understand? Am I going to make it on time? Will they be ready? Have I done it properly?” We close the door and teach in a self enclosed bubble and sometimes we have our moments of self doubt. Often it is all cleared up with a simple prescription: assign an essay and see if they can do it. If the majority wins, you win. But there is always a taste of doubt left sitting on the tongue.

But now it is the weekend and I can put Camus down, brush off the bikini, suck in the stomach ( ask whether I really should be wearing a bikini) and head to the beach. Trooper is swimming in an open sea competition. She is determined to come last and swim lazy strokes beside her new good friend. Best of all my mother has flown in for a sweeping 4 day visit. So there will be restaurants and visits to places and a chance to see Bahrain with visitor’s eyes. She is our very first visitor so we have plumped pillows, laid out fresh towels, arranged roses and planned a fun weekend.

So I must push away the lurking feeling that I, too,may be getting sick, banish those worries and self doubt, stop thinking and go out and Have Fun. It is just what the doctor ordered.

2 Comments

Filed under Family Stuff

2 responses to “A funny sort of week

  1. As I sit ensconced in my new wool scarf, lamenting the wait for the Italian law to declare it is the right time to give me heat, I cannot imagine for a moment how you can be putting on a suit and playing in the waves. It seems so far from my icy breath. Enjoy!

  2. and yes-you should be wearing a bikini!

Leave a Reply

