On a Thursday?

So there I was on the beach and I was alone with my husband, it was sunny, the place was empty, the light was gorgeous and it was a THURSDAY! 

 

When I got home from school at 2pm I had flumped on the sofa and said “I’m bored” . I didn’t want to face another afternoon of homework, a nap, some tv and then dinner. “I wish we could DO something” I whined.

 

The handsome man I live with who luckily is not at work these days suggested we go to the beach. I knew this would not go down well the girls.  As I suspected, they stomped and got cross and complained and suffered and pulled faces so I said “FINE!” I got a baby sitter, slipped jiggled into my bikini and off we went. Within 40 minutes I had a green sands in my hand, sand on my toes and my face in the sun. There was even a gentle breeze just to make it more perfect. After talking like uninterrupted grown ups we went for a swim then came out and had ANOTHER green sands (wow, ginger beer!) the drive home involved sandy bare feet on dashboard, wind in hair, a great view, golden dappling light and some very cool French tunes. 

 

Why is this the first time I have done this?


 

Some people have date night, with a meal and maybe a movie. I am going to initiate Thursday afternoon dates. It’ll totally be worth the 20 in baby sitter $$$$.

 

And coming home all sandy in the middle of the week is really a slice of heaven.

 


1 Comment

Filed under Trinidad & Tobago

One response to “On a Thursday?

  1. mr. p

    i think my happiest moments in trinidad were weekday afternoons after school at macqueripe, slowly wading into the emerald sea, coming out and drinking some absolutely frigid caribs, and then riding my bike home thinking “you can’t beat that for a monday-friday afternoon”

Leave a Reply

