And the winner is…

I went to London for the purpose of attending a job fair. It was not all chocolate truffles and snowflakes. The fair itself was slightly surreal, lines of people waiting to meet other lines of people waiting to decide if they would like to interview these brave and sparky teachers.  A teacher roaming the fair trying to find a job with a “trailing” spouse, two children and 1 dog is a hard sell but I shined my shoes and put my bravest and best foot forward. Mere days ago I didn’t know where we would be in 6 months and now, finally we have an answer.

 

Finger the envelope, pull out the thick card inside, open it gingerly, peek… and the winner is… Uganda. Uganda, “pearl of Africa” according to Winston Churchill, birth of the Nile, home of coffee, roses and gorillas, seat of Kampala, the city of hills and potholes, future home of intrepid adventurers; my family. Uganda was never on the cards a week ago and now it is our future home.  I will be teaching at the Kamapala International School and they are thrilled to have me, handsome husband and two girls. 

On July 1st we will bid farewell to sweet Trinidad and set sail of the heart of Africa. In the meantime we will squeeze the pips out of Trinidad and enjoy the rest of our time here.  3 limes will set sail on this new adventure and report from deepest Africa!

Uganda. I need to let this one settle for awhile.

uganda25

6 Comments

Filed under Family Stuff, personal, Travel

6 responses to “And the winner is…

  1. twoods158

    Uganda! Wow. That’ll be an experience! I would come visit, but its, you know, africa. Good Luck! I’m sure you’ll succeed in everything you do, and kids will love you ALMOST as much as we do. English just isn’t the same. Miss you!

  2. CelebrateCanada2010

    I cannot wait to hear all about it through your lovely blog. I love your writing Miss S.

  3. Pingback: This time a year ago… « 3limes

  4. As a Newbie, I’m constantly searching online for articles which can assist me. Thank you

  5. I generally don’t post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. wonderful …

Leave a Reply

