Playing in a fishbowl

I live in a fishbowl. 

Our sun room (indoor porch) has three walls of windows and we live on a corner. We can spy on our neighbours, the joggers, the dog walkers, the teens, the skateboarders, the soccer players, but they can also all spy on us.

 

 

 

fishbowl1

 

 

We spend many Sunday afternoons drinking wine and playing scrabble. It is a beautiful room to “lime” away an afternoon. It is the reason we rented the house.

Last Sunday in the middle of a scrabble game, I stared at the rain and looked outside. I realized I had fallen off my short lived scrabble throne. There was a time when Cassandra and I were the same level. We would always play within 5 points of each other. It was an addiction. I remember saying that it would be short lived. At one point one of us, probably her, would zoom ahead and take over. Sure enough and thanks to many hours spent on scrabble.com she has now turned into The Scrabble Maven.


 

 

chickenscrabble2

 

 

 

It is not a case of me winning occasionally or even coming second in a game of 4, but how many points will I lose by. How embarrassing will it be?  Suddenly the fishbowl is revealing scary secrets. I am the English Teacher losing at Scrabble.

For awhile I was getting good. Words I could never see were suddenly there! I was great with the laddering and the 3 letter words, all strategic and clever. I knew all my KA and QI and ZA words. Problem was practice. I told her “ either I give up work or you give up scrabble.com. I cannot keep up with you!” It was making me feel stupid and was just not much fun. Finally with the 62 point word “SEQUEL” I felt my crown slowly slip off my head. How could our friendship survive?

 

scrabble02

 

 

 

I think we might need to find something else to do in the fishbowl.

 

 

 

 


3 Comments

Filed under Might be funny

3 responses to “Playing in a fishbowl

  1. caryn ferguson

    ahhh very cute. You are always a winner with Jo and Cassandra.

  2. robert

    if you have not read word freaks, about the competitive scrabble world, you must!!

  3. This is great! My husband and I play Scrabble a lot, and he’s really got the strategies down. English is not his first language, and I’m an English teacher and he still beats me. The cartoon is great; I always tell him he has to use the word in a sentence. 🙂

Leave a Reply

